Largest Prize Pool Ever Totals in at $42+ Million: Big One for ONE DROP

July 1, 2012

Poker has always been a charitable sport and over the years many poker tournaments have been held in support of various charities, and these tournaments often attract some big name poker players and celebrities. This time though, poker has even outdone itself, as the WSOP will host the biggest buy-in event. Ever. Anywhere. The prize pool totals more than $42 million.

The Big One for ONE Drop, which started a couple hours ago in Vegas is a $1 million buy-in event. Cirque du Soleil CEO Guy Laliberté was the first to register at last year’s WSOP, and many other big business executives, poker players, and philanthropists have since joined him to make for a sold out tournament with 48 entrants. The first place winner will receive the largest prize in the history of poker—$18,346,773. The previous largest payout went to Jamie Gold in 2006 for his WSOP Main Event championship title.

The Big One was initially Laliberté’s idea when he approached WSOP officials about hosting the biggest poker tournament of all time, and his dream came to be reality today. Event #55 is a NLH event is a unique assemblage of the some of the world’s most esteemed millionaires and billionaires. This event will be televised ESPN and streamed live on

For every registrant, $111,111 will be donated to the ONE DROP charity in hopes of assisting poor nations with accessing clean water. With a full house, the charity will receive $5,533,328. There will be no rake taken during the tournament, so all $888,889 of each player’s entry fee will go to the prize pool. Players started with 3 million in chips, and nine of the 48 will be paid. World renowned watchmaker Richard Mille has designed an exclusive Big One for ONE DROP bracelet for the winner.

Professional poker players registered include Tom Dwan, Jonathan Duhamel, Phil Galfond, Bertrand Grospellier, Phil Ivey, Eugene Katchalov, Ben Lamb, Michael Mizrachi, Jason Mercier, Daniel Negreanu, Erik Seidel, Mike Sexton, noah Schwartz, Gus Hansen, Sam Trickett, and Phil Hellmuth, among many others.


Comments are closed.