British Poker Awards Take Place this Month

September 9, 2010

Vote for your favorite poker player today and tomorrow at The first annual British Poker Awards will happen this month on Monday, September 13. The ceremony will be held in London at the Kensington Close Hotel and will give out 11 awards in various categories including overall Player of the Year.

The categories include Best Cash Player (nominees: Richard Ashby, Neil Channing, Luke Schwartz, Ben Roberts, Ben Grundy, and Bambos Xanthos); Best Tournament Player (nominees: Sam Trickett, James Akenhead, Praz Bansi, Chris Moorman, JP Kelly, and James Dempsey); Best Online Player (nominees: Richard “Chufty” Ashby, Chris “Moorman1” Moorman, Luke “__FullFlush1__” Schwartz, Lawrence “Rivermanl” Houghton, and Ben “milkybarkid” Grundy.

Not only can you vote online for your favorite players, you can also purchase tickets to the grand event for only £39. MC Michael Caselli says, “We have always wanted to make the awards as accessible for the poker playing public possible. This is like the BAFTAs of poker and we want every poker enthusiasts to be able to experience a slice of the upper echelon of British Poker.”

Comedian Yianni Agisilaou will co-host with Anotonio “The Magician” Esfandiari.

Casselli adds, “Antonio is one of the game’s biggest personalities, and I am so excited that he is the Master of Ceremonies at the first British Poker Awards.”

The event which will commence at 7:00 p.m. on September 13th will be preceded by a cocktail party and followed by a £50 NL tourney in which poker fans will be able to rub elbows and actually get a chance to play against all the nominees.


Comments are closed.