Athanasios Polychronopoulos Makes WSOP History

June 12, 2013

Athanasios Polychronopoulos became the first player in WSOP history to win two large fields with buy-ins of $1,500 or less when he hit his second gold bracelet late Monday night at the Rio, Las Vegas.

The 29-year-old poker pro from Greece claimed his second gold bracelet in Event 17, the $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em tournament, two years after his first WSOP bracelet win. This bracelet had also come in a $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em event. His total WSOP earnings are now in excess of $1.27 million.

The former restauranteur faced off the German Manuel Mutke at the final table to capture the $518,755-worth title. Mutke earned $322,908 for finishing as runner-up, and this was his first WSOP cash.

The event drew 2,105 players, generating a $2,841,750 prize pool. The top 216 finishers enjoyed a payday, some of the notables among them including Barry Greenstein (11th), three-time bracelet winner Matt Matros (27th), Jake Balsiger (31st), Matt Jarvis (37th), Ari Engel (78th), Allyn Jaffrey Shulman (111th), Jake Cody (126th), Steve O’Dwyer (134th), bracelet winners Simon Charette (160th) and Sean Getzwiller (206th), and Layne Flack (210th).

The final table featured high profile pros stacked in a line-up that seemed unaffected by the large field in the event. Two of the summer’s hottest players made a repeat final table appearance. David “Bakes” Baker finished eighth place, which coupled with his previous fourth and sixth place showings made him the first player of the summer to make three final tables. Joe Cada’s was his second final table this summer and his fourth career final table appearance.

Other notables at the final table were Circuit regular and former high-stakes golfer Everett Carlton who was after a bracelet to compliment his gold Circuit ring, and pro Joe Ward who posted 28th position after a deep run in the 2010 WSOP Main Event. The $224,455 prize was Carlton’s highest cash to date.

The $1,500 No-Limit Hold’em Event 17 final table results are as follows:

  1. Athanasios Polychronopoulos – $518,755
  2. Manuel Mutke – $322,908
  3. Everett Carlton – $224,455
  4. Joe Cada – $161,652
  5. Samuel Taylor – $118,145
  6. Michael Kurth – $87,398
  7. Joseph Ward – $65,502
  8. David “Bakes” Baker – $49,716
  9. Thomas Nicotera – $38,178


Comments are closed.