2010 WSOP Main Event Officially Underway

July 6, 2010

As of 12:05 p.m. Monday, July 5, 2010, the 41st annual World Series of Poker Main Event is officially underway. 2004 World Champion Greg “Fossilman” Raymor cut the ribbon so to speak in the opening ceremony bellowing through a microphone to more than a thousand fans in the crowd, “This is what you are all playing for – the gold bracelet! This is what you all came here for!” he continued holding up his own gold bracelet, “And now, let’s play some poker! Shuffle up and deal!”

Players come from around the world speaking diverse languages with various levels of education from just about every possible profession to congregate at the World Series of Poker each year with the shared dream that this year might be their year to win. And for someone, that dream is sure to come true as it has for past champions Joe Cada, Joe Hachem, and Chris Moneymaker.

The WSOP Main Event starting day is broken into four days to accommodate the hoards of people who participate in the series. Day 1A saw more than 1,100 people including poker pros and champions such as Bobby “the Owl” Baldwin, Chris Moneymaker, Greg “Fossilman” Raymer, Billy Baxter, T.J. Cloutier, Thor Hansen, Mike Matusow, Erik Seidel, Barry Shulman, David Sklansky, and Dewey Tomko.

The World Series of Poker also attracts Hollywood stars and celebrity athletes to the game. Day 1A also hosted tables which included actor and comedian Ray Romano, two-time Olympic gold medalist Marcus Hellner of Sweden, Dallas Maverick Shawn Marion, and four-time Olympic medalist including two gold medals Petter Northug of Norway played today.

Players have the option of choosing which starting day they prefer, and it is expected that starting days 1B, 1C, and 1D will have a larger turnout than starting day 1A.

Players who survive the 1A first round in the Main Event will move on to day 2A held on July 9th.


Got something to say?

You must be logged in to post a comment.